The new ECE 22.06 certification for helmets

The new motorcycle season is upon us again. Since June 2020, a new safety mark has been introduced: ECE 22.06. Time to tell you a bit more about this new certification. Curious to learn what the certification entails and what it means for you? We've got a short summary laid out for your education and entertainment!

What does the ECE certification mean?

The ECE norm is the most important motorcycle helmet safety standard in Europe. This is an European type of approval which indicates the minimum safety requirements for motorcycle helmets. Motorcycle riders throughout Europe are obliged to wear an ECE-rated helmet while riding their motorcycle. It's not mandatory to wear CE-approved motorcycle clothing but if you want to read more about that, then check out our blog about CE-certificate for motorcycle clothing!
The purpose of the ECE standard is to protect the rider as much as possible during their ride. So with an ECE approved helmet you can get on your motorcycle with peace of mind.

What is the difference between ECE 22.05 and ECE 22.06?

The ECE 22.05 is still the most common standard today. This version is mainly tested for shock absorption, strength, wear resistance and roll-off. An impact test is also done and the visor is tested for the strength of the closure. With the new ECE 22.06 standard, these tests are also performed. Because this standard is stricter than the previous version, a number of additional tests are also performed. This is to provide even more safety in traffic. The biggest differences between these standards are that for ECE22.06 all accessories are tested as well and multiple impact tests on different locations and rotational crash tests are done. This is done to make sure the helmet provides a level of protection consistently all around, whereas with the ECE22.05 regulation manufacturers could focus on specific parts of the helmet.

The new ECE22.06 testing procedures

To get an ECE 22.06 approval, helmets will have to pass three additional test procedures. This mainly concerns additional impact tests, rotational crash tests and the accessories are tested as well. The most important improvements in the test are:

  • In the extra impact tests the impact is tested at different speeds and different angles. This did not happen in the past.
  • Rotational testing gives a better picture of how the helmet performs when it hits a particular obstacle. This is carefully tested in the new standard to prevent the more serieus consequences of a crash, such as severe head injuries.
  • The accessories on the helmet are also extensively tested. For example previously, only the closure of the visor was tested. With this new standard, the strength of the visor itself will have to meet certain requirements. For example, one test that the helmet must pass is when a small iron ball at speeds of 220 km/h hits the visor and the visor should not break or crumble.

What does the ECE 22.06 certification mean for you?

The fact that this new ECE 22.06 standard has been set doesn’t mean that you can no longer wear a helmet with the ECE 22.05 standard. Those will remain road legal so you can continue using it. It also doesn't mean that helmets with this standard are not safe. The only difference is that the new standard has even stricter requirements to guarantee even higher levels of safety.

From January 2024 on, manufacturers may only be producing and selling ECE 22.06 rated helmets. As mentioned, the use of an ECE 22.05 helmet will never be forbidden, but keep in mind that helmets do not last forever! If you want to know more about this, check out our blog: How long does a motorcycle helmet last?

Are you curious about our wide range of ECE 22.06 approved helmets? Check out our range of ECE approved helmets from different brands such as: Airoh, Nolan and Shoei!